About Us

Our History


site image
The rich marshlands of New Brunswick's Tantramar region, said to be the world's largest hayfields, welcome visitors to Memramcook, the cradle of Acadian culture and birthplace of the Université de Moncton. Here one can find the Acadian Odyssey exhibit, woodland trails, French and Acadian Cuisine and the Memramcook Valley resort.

Funeral service had its start in Memramcook when Slyvain Leger became the undertaker and took the deceased to the cemetery in a horse-drawn hearse. He died in 1918 and was succeeded by his son, Edward who carried on the business with his wife Mary.

site image

Dollard Dupuis
President & Owner
1963 - 1987

The two managed the firm for fifty two years prior to Edward's passing in 1971. Wife Mary was the first Acadian woman to receive an embalmer's license (1942) and she died in 1991 at the age of ninety-nine years. Dollard Dupuis obtained his professional license in 1963 and purchased the business on the retirement of the Legers. Mr. Dupuis' first call as a funeral director was for Rev. Robert Gaudet, CSC, who died November 22, 1963. The two had attended St. Joseph's University together and Dupuis was traumatized by the death of a close friend so much that he sought help and comfort from another priest who encouraged him to continue in his duties.

In the beginning, visitation was held in the homes with a loved one resting at the residence. This changed when Dollard opened a funeral home December 15, 1963. The first deceased to rest at the funeral home was Leo Richard in May 1964.

Dollard's son, Leonce, obtained his license in 1977 and took over the business in 1988. Leonce's son, Serge, obtained his license in 1996 and became the third generation to work in the family business.

In January 2000, Leonce and Serge opened a new, modern, spacious building to better serve the community.

Leonce retired in 2009, at which time Serge took over as owner/President, proudly carrying on his family's tradition of helping people in their time of sorrow.

site image

Leonce Dupuis
President & Owner
1988 - 2009


Our Facility


© 2017 Dupuis Funeral Home - English. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS

site image

À propos de nous

Notre histoire


site image
Les riches marais de la région de Tantramar du Nouveau-Brunswick, déclaré être les plus grandes prairies de fauche du monde, accueillent les visiteurs à Memramcook, berceau de la culture acadienne et lieu de naissance de l'Université de Moncton. Ici on peut trouver l'exposition acadienne Odyssée, des sentiers forestiers, cuisine française et acadienne et la station Vallée de Memramcook.
 
Le service funéraire a connu son début à Memramcook lorsque Sylvain Leger est devenu l'entrepreneur de pompes funèbres et amena le défunt au cimetière dans un corbillard tiré par des chevaux. Il est mort en 1918 et a été succédé par son fils, Edouard, qui exploitait l'entreprise avec son épouse Marie.
site image

Dollard Dupuis
président et propriétaire
de 1963 - 1987

Les deux ont exploité l'entreprise pendant cinquante deux ans avant le décès d'Edouard en 1971. Épouse Marie était la première femme acadienne à recevoir une licence d'embaumeure (1942) et elle est morte en 1991 à l'âge de quatre-vingt-neuf ans. Dollard Dupuis a obtenu sa licence professionnelle en 1963 et a acheté l'entreprise à la retraite des Légers. Le premier appel de M. Dupuis en tant que directeur de funérailles a été pour Rev. Robert Gaudet, le c.s.c., qui est décédé le 22 novembre 1963. Les deux avaient fréquenté l'Université St. Joseph ensemble et Dupuis a été traumatisé par la mort d'un ami proche tellement qu'il a demandé de l'aide et le confort d'un autre prêtre qui l'a encouragé à continuer dans ses fonctions.

Au début, les visites eurent lieu dans les maisons alors que le mort reposait à la résidence. Cela a changé lorsque Dollard a ouvert une maison funéraire le 15 décembre, 1963. La première personne décédée exposé à la maison funéraire était Leo Richard en mai 1964.

Le fils de Dollard, Léonce, a obtenu sa licence en 1977 et a repris l'entreprise en 1988. Le fils de Léonce, Serge, a obtenu sa licence en 1996 et est devenu la troisième génération à travailler dans l'entreprise familiale.

En Janvier 2000, Léonce et Serge ont ouvert un nouveau bâtiment moderne et spacieux pour mieux servir la communauté. Léonce a pris sa retraite en 2009, au moment où Serge a repris en tant que propriétaire / président, portant fièrement la tradition de sa famille d'aider les gens dans leur temps de chagrin.

site image

Leonce Dupuis
président et propriétaire
de 1988 - 2009


Notre Salon Funéraire


© 2017 Dupuis Funeral Home - Francais. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS