Photography

Edgar Landry

March 24, 1932 ~ March 25, 2020 (age 88)

Obituary

It is with heavy hearts that we announce the passing of Edgar Landry of Memramcook on Wednesday March 25, 2020 at the CHU Dr. Georges L. Dumont at  the age of 88, after a brief illness. Born on March 24, 1932 in Memramcook East, he was the son of the late Onésime and Régina (Arsenault) Landry. He will be sadly missed by his daughter, Dianne (Michel) Hébert of St-Joseph, three sons, Pierre (Charline) Landry of Moncton, Jean (Annette) Landry and Charles (Florida) Landry of La Montain, seven grandchildren, Mathieu, Simon, Mélanie, Carole, Justin, François and Eric, four  great grandchildren, Martine, Zoé, Adèle, Emilie, a first great grandson due in April, two sisters, Jeannette (late Herménégilde) Mallet of Shippagan and Doris (Robert) LeBlanc of Memramcook East, four brothers, Camille (Annette) Landry of St-Joseph, Emery (Claudette) Landry and Dollard (Huberte) Landry of Dieppe, and Roger (Suzanne) Landry of Moncton, as well as several nieces and nephews.

Besides his parents, he was predeceased by his wife Marguerite (2010) and a younger brother Roger (1942).

Edgar was a hard worker, a loving family man and a good friend to many. Coming from humble beginnings, this young man literally started from the ground floor, sweeping the print shop floor at the francophone newspaper l’Evangéline. He learned the printing trade inside out, advanced to print shop manager, general manager, to his role as president of two Acadian companies, L’Evangéline newspaper and Acadia Printing. Later on, until his retirement, his knowledge of the industry and personality turned his customers into valued friends as he travelled all over New Brunswick and PEI during his years at Domtar and Schofield Paper.

He always loved sports, whether it was playing baseball for the Memramcook Rovers in his youth, table tennis with his kids, bowling, playing pool and of course golf, which he loved. Often punctuating a well-played shot with a sincere “c’est beau” he was supportive and optimistic his whole life. He attended his kids’ and grandkids’ numerous sporting events over the years always encouraging fair play, but very competitive by nature, he loved winning.

Edgar enriched the lives of all he touched, and to those who knew him well, know he never overstayed his welcome.

In light of the current Coronavirus pandemic, a private funeral will be held for the immediate family. Interment will be held in the Notre Dame de Lourdes parish cemetery.

In memory of Edgar, donations can be made to a charity of your choice. He had a special place in his heart for Fondation Melissa.

 

To send flowers to the family or plant a tree in memory of Edgar Landry, please visit our floral store.


Services

You can still show your support by sending flowers directly to the family, or by planting a memorial tree in the memory of Edgar Landry
© 2020 Dupuis Funeral Home - English. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS

Photography

Edgar Landry

March 24, 1932 ~ March 25, 2020 (age 88)

Obituary

C'est avec le cœur lourd que nous annonçons le décès d'Edgar Landry de Memramcook le mercredi 25 mars 2020 au CHU Dr Georges L. Dumont à l'âge de 88 ans, après une brève maladie. Né le 24 mars 1932 à Memramcook-Est, il était le fils de feu Onésime et Régina (Arsenault) Landry. Il laisse dans le deuil sa fille, Dianne (Michel) Hébert de St-Joseph, trois fils, Pierre (Charline) Landry de Moncton, Jean (Annette) Landry et Charles (Floride) Landry de La Montain, sept petits-enfants, Mathieu, Simon, Mélanie, Carole, Justin, François et Eric, quatre arrière-petits-enfants, Martine, Zoé, Adèle, Emilie, un premier arrière-petit-fils prévu pour avril, deux sœurs, Jeannette (feu Herménégilde) Mallet de Shippagan et Doris (Robert) LeBlanc de Memramcook East, quatre frères, Camille (Annette) Landry de St-Joseph, Emery (Claudette) Landry et Dollard (Huberte) Landry de Dieppe, et Roger (Suzanne) Landry de Moncton, ainsi que plusieurs nièces et neveux.

Outre ses parents, son épouse Marguerite (2010) et un frère enfant Roger (1942) l’ont précédé dans la tombe.

Edgar était un travailleur acharné, un père de famille aimant et un bon ami pour beaucoup. Issu d’humbles débuts, ce jeune homme est littéralement parti du rez-de-chaussée, balayant l’imprimerie du journal francophone l’Evangéline.  Il conaissait son métier en pronfondeur et a évolué au poste de directeur de l'imprimerie, directeur général, pour devenir président de deux sociétés acadiennes, le journal L'Evangéline et Acadia Printing. Plus tard, jusqu'à sa retraite, sa connaissance de l'industrie et de sa personnalité a fait de ses clients de précieux amis alors qu'il voyageait partout au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard pendant ses années chez Domtar et Schofield Paper.

Il a toujours aimé le sport, que ce soit jouer au baseball pour les Memramcook Rovers dans sa jeunesse, jouer au tennis de table avec ses enfants, jouer aux quilles, jouer au billard et bien sûr au golf, qu'il aimait. Souvent ponctuant un coup bien joué d'un «c’est beau» sincère, il était solidaire et optimiste toute sa vie. Il a assisté à de nombreux événements sportifs de ses enfants et petits-enfants au fil des ans, encourageant toujours le fair-play, mais très compétitif par nature, il aimait gagner.

Edgar a enrichi la vie de tout ceux qu'il a touché, et pour ceux qui le connaissaient bien, sachez qu'il n'a jamais dépassé son accueil.

En raison de la pandémie du coronavirus, des funérailles privées seront pour la famille immédiate. L'inhumation aura lieu au cimetière paroissial Notre Dame de Lourdes.

À la mémoire d'Edgar, des dons peuvent être faits à un organisme de bienfaisance de votre choix. Il avait une place spéciale dans son cœur pour la Fondation Melissa

To send flowers to the family or plant a tree in memory of Edgar Landry, please visit our floral store.


Services

You can still show your support by sending flowers directly to the family, or by planting a memorial tree in the memory of Edgar Landry
© 2020 Dupuis Funeral Home - Francais. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS & TA